Ballymena United 3
Warrenpoint Town 1
League (NIFL Premiership)

Ballymena United
3 - 1
Warrenpoint Town 

League (NIFL Premiership)
Saturday, March 19th, 2016
Ballymena Showgrounds
Attendance: 627
3:00 PM Kick-off

Allan Jenkins (44)
William Faulkner (89)
William Faulkner (90)
Jonathan McMurray (22)

Team Managers
David Jeffrey
Barry Gray

Starting Eleven
18. Alan Blayney
21. Jim Ervin
2. Tony Kane
3. Stephen McBride
22. Kyle McVey
5. Jonathan Taylor
24. Nathan Hanley
10. Allan Jenkins
8. Gavin Taggart
7. Gary Thompson
9. Darren Henderson
Jonathan Parr
Liam Bagnall
Dermot McVeigh
Stephen Moan
Conor McDonald
Mark Hughes
Jordan Dane
Stephen Murray
Mark Clarke
Martin Murray
Jonathan McMurray

1. Dwayne Nelson
4. Patrick McNally
12. William Faulkner
Jonathan Frazer
15. Eoin Kane
John Boyle
Nathan Murphy
Stephen Hughes
Mark McCabe
Stefan Graham

Jonathan Frazer for Nathan Hanley (67)
Eoin Kane for Gavin Taggart (79)
William Faulkner for Darren Henderson (84)
John Boyle for Jonathan McMurray (63)
Nathan Murphy for Mark Hughes (74)

Gavin Taggart (53)
Kyle McVey (70)
Liam Bagnall (72)

Red Cards
None. Stephen Moan (43)
Match Officials

Raymond Crangle (Referee)

Match Report

BALLYMENA United beat Warrenpoint Town today, thanks to two late goals from substitute Willie Faulkner.

The first chance of the game fell to the visitors in the 6th minute when Alan Blayney was forced into a fine save from Conor McDonald. A few minutes later United had their first opportunity to score, Darren Henderson rising to head at the back post but it was well saved by Jonathan Parr. In the 18th minute Gary Thompson passed to Allan Jenkins who seen his shot deflected past the post. Johnny Taylor got his head onto the corner but it was tipped over the bar.

Warrenpoint Town got the breakthrough in the 20th minute with a goal from Johnny McMurray. Just before half time Stephen Moan was sent off for a handball from a Johnny Taylor header and United were awarded a penalty. Allan Jenkins stepped up to take it and it was saved by Parr, only to fall back to Jenkins who put the rebound into the back of the net to draw matters level.

In the 6th minute of the second half Darren Henderson played a ball to Jim Ervin inside the box and he hooked a shot into the net, but it was disallowed for an offside offence by referee Raymond Crangle. Just after the hour mark Gary Thompson hit the crossbar from 6 yards out, and Henderson missed a gilt-edged chance at the back post, as United tried to take advantage of the extra man.

In the 69th minute David Jeffrey made his first sub, bringing on Jonny Frazer for Nathan Hanley, and with his first kick of the ball Frazer fired wide when he only had the keeper to beat. Eoin Kane came on to replace Gavin Taggart in the 78th minute of the game, and Willie Faulkner replaced Darren Henderson in the 85th minute as United continued to chase the winning goal. It paid dividends as Willie Faulkner scored in the 89th minute of the game to put United ahead, and again in injury time to secure a crucial three points.

Match report written by Paul Irwin

Squad Statistics (as at March 19th, 2016)

2015-2016 All Time
Alan Blayney (GK)34 17 - 55 -
Jim Ervin30 361712
Tony Kane28 30118310
Stephen McBride32 211791
Kyle McVey29 222344
Jonathan Taylor27 27113512
Nathan Hanley25 111335
Allan Jenkins34 381119843
Gavin Taggart31 16 - 1746
Gary Thompson25 33414618
Darren Henderson30 2428723
Jonathan Frazer (sub)19 5 - 5 -
Eoin Kane (sub)20 212292
William Faulkner (sub)26 265265

League Table (as at March 19th, 2016)

Pld W D L +/- Pts
1. Crusaders 30 21 7 2 42 70
2. Linfield 31 20 5 6 41 65
3. Glenavon 31 17 8 6 31 59
4. Cliftonville 31 16 9 6 13 57
5. Coleraine 31 17 3 11 7 54
6. Glentoran 31 12 6 13 -7 42
7. Dungannon 31 9 6 16 -13 33
8. BALLYMENA UTD 31 9 5 17 -22 32
9. Ballinamallard Utd 31 7 6 18 -18 27
10. Carrick 30 5 10 15 -24 25
11. Warrenpoint Town 31 6 5 20 -29 23

* - Table split into two divisions of six.