Linfield 1
Ballymena United 0
League (Irish Premier League)


1 - 0

Ballymena United

League (Irish Premier League)
Saturday, October 20th, 2007
Windsor Park
3:00 PM Kick-off

Peter Thompson (59) None.

Team Managers
David Jeffrey Tommy Wright

Starting Eleven
Alan Mannus
Stephen Douglas
Pat McShane
Michael Gault
William Murphy
Tim Mouncey
Glenn Ferguson
Kris Lindsay
Aidan O'Kane
Peter Thompson
Jamie Mulgrew
Paul Murphy
Jonathan Flynn
Simon Kelly
Craig McClean
Albert Watson
Gary Haveron
Stuart King
Gavin Melaugh
Garth Scates
Aidan Watson
Kevin Kelbie

Noel Bailie
Mark Dickson
Thomas Stewart
Liam Hogan
Thomas Wray
Lee Patrick
Mark Picking
Darren Fitzgerald
Davitt Walsh

Mark Dickson for Tim Mouncey (72)
Thomas Stewart for Jamie Mulgrew (89)
Mark Picking for Garth Scates (67)
Davitt Walsh for Aidan Watson (67)
Darren Fitzgerald for Kevin Kelbie (84)

None. None.

Red Cards
None. None.

Match Officials

Alan Black (Antrim) (Referee)

Match Report

THE wait goes on not only for Ballymena United's first win in half a dozen games, but also it's 387 minutes since the Sky Blues' last goal!

Saturday's defeat to Linfield at Windsor Park, meant that it's nearly six and a half hours since the Braidmen savoured the celebration of hitting the back of the net.

Tommy Wright and his Ballymena side returned to Windsor Park looking to avenge the humiliating 5-1 defeat inflicted in the League Cup back in August, against a Linfield side so far undefeated in the Carnegie Premier League.

However it took only five minutes for the Blues to begin to trouble the visitors with their first attempt on goal when Peter Thompson fired straight at Paul Murphy in the United goal.

Ballymena, playing a defensive formation showed some attacking threat when Stuart King's corner into a crowded penalty area had to be cleared in a hurry by Pat McShane.

Linfield continued to press, and veteran Glenn Ferguson had two good chances to open the scoring for the Windsor Blues – firing wide on his first attempt and over the bar in his second. The former Northern Ireland striker was seemingly having an off-day in front of goal.

United defended sternly against the attacking threat of the League Champions; as Pat McShane and Peter Thompson both went close for the home side.

On 40 minutes, Aidan O'Kane's corner lacked a finishing touch by the incoming Kris Lindsay. Minutes later Albert Watson gave away a free-kick on the edge of the box, however Ferguson sent the shot over.

After the restart, Linfield finally took their deserved lead on 59 minutes when Glenn Ferguson threaded Thompson through and he outpaced the flat-footed Albert Watson, to race through on goal before firing past the helpless Murphy.

A mistake in the Blues' defence on 70 minutes allowed Kevin Kelbie to break forward in a rare Ballymena attack, however despite firing his guilt edged chance wide – the assistant referee's flag was already in the air.

A few minutes later Murphy was forced into a tremendous save when O'Kane's cross was met by the head of goalscorer Thompson; but his downward header was forced around the post by the Dundalk custodian.

United's only other chance of note was a tame Kelbie header from a Stuart King cross, as Linfield continued to fire blanks, as they finished with only one goal to show for their dominance.

Match report written by Official Ballymena United website

Squad Statistics (as at October 20th, 2007)

2007-2008 All Time
Paul Murphy (GK)22 13 - 53 -
Jonathan Flynn17 5151
Simon Kelly23 11 - 241
Craig McClean22 13 - 72 -
Albert Watson22 13 - 1866
Gary Haveron26 9 - 869
Stuart King26 91696
Gavin Melaugh26 8 - 15 -
Garth Scates28 13214214
Aidan Watson21 9 - 693
Kevin Kelbie22 817834
Mark Picking (sub)31 1345211
Davitt Walsh (sub)21 8686
Darren Fitzgerald (sub)29 824610

League Table (as at October 20th, 2007)

Pld W D L Pts
1. Linfield 5 4 1 0 13
2. Glentoran 5 4 1 0 13
3. Cliftonville 5 4 1 0 13
4. Distillery 5 4 0 1 12
5. Newry 5 3 1 1 10
6. Portadown 5 3 0 2 9
7. Coleraine 5 2 2 1 8
8. Glenavon 5 2 0 3 6
9. Donegal Celtic 5 2 0 3 6
10. Crusaders 5 1 2 2 5
11. Institute 5 1 2 2 5
12. Larne 5 1 1 3 4
13. BALLYMENA UTD 5 1 0 4 3
14. Limavady Utd 5 0 2 3 2
15. Dungannon 5 0 2 3 2
16. Armagh City 5 0 1 4 1