Ballymena United 2
Newry Town (City) 3
League (IFA Premiership)

Ballymena United
2 - 3

League (IFA Premiership)
Monday, November 10th, 2008
Ballymena Showgrounds
Attendance: 1,293
7:45 PM Kick-off

Neil Teggart (66)
Neil Teggart (89)

Team Managers
Roy Walker
Gerry Flynn

Starting Eleven
Alan Blayney
Thomas Burke
Lee Colligan
Albert Watson
Gary Haveron
Stuart King
Joe McDonnell
Gavin Melaugh
Liam Mullan
Kevin Kelbie
Neil Teggart

Aaron Stewart
Mark Picking
Aidan Watson
Paul McNeill
Michael Ward

Aidan Watson for Thomas Burke (57)
Paul McNeill for Liam Mullan (57)
Mark Picking for Joe McDonnell (78)

None. None.

Red Cards
None. None.
Match Officials

Colin Burns (Newtownabbey) (Referee)

Match Report

Newry City had to endure a nervy finish before holding on to defeat bottom club Ballymena United in Monday's JJB Sports Irish Premiership clash.

Darren King struck Newry ahead on nine minutes and goals from strikers Chris Morgan (50) and Stephen Garrett (56) put the visitors 3-0 up.

Neil Teggart pulled a goal back on 66 minutes and the home striker then hammered in a 90th-minute free-kick.

Ballymena had further late pressure but Newry held on to claim a deserved win.

Former Ballymena goalkeeper Paul Murphy produced a smart save in the seventh minute to deny Kevin Kelbie.

However, Newry were in front two minutes later when King first-timed to the net from 12 yards after Sean Friars' speculative shot had deflected off Joe McDonnell.

After Ballymena's Albert Watson had been booked for a trip on Ross Black, Emmett Friars had a chance to add to Newry's lead but the defender's close-range header was straight at Alan Blayney.

Ballymena then came more into the game and the busy Stuart King tested Murphy while a Gavin Melaugh drive went inches over the bar.

Gary Haveron squandered a great chance to level on 39 minutes when he failed to connect with a corner.

Kelbie was lucky to stay on the pitch three minutes before the break when he received only a yellow card from referee Colin Burns after a dreadful two-footed lunge on Newry goalscorer King.

Roy Walker's side remain on the bottom of the Irish Premiership
Blayney produced a brilliant reaction save to deny Morgan two minutes after the break.

However, the former Southampton goalkeeper could do nothing three minutes later when Morgan produced a precise finish after Garrett had flicked on goalkeeper Murphy's free kick.

Kelbie had a chance to pull a goal back two minutes later but he shot straight at Murphy.

Ballymena were in big trouble on 56 minutes when Garrett produced a clever finish with the home defence caught napping yet again.
Garrett went close to adding a fourth on the hour but he pulled his shot across the face of goal.

Teggart gave Ballymena hope by heading King's free kick into the net on 66 minutes.

Garrett should have killed off Ballymena on 69 minutes after a poor Blayney clearance but the keeper blocked the striker's pointblank effort and Gary Haveron stopped the follow-up effort.
McDonnell then wasted a Ballymena chance while Newry's Alan Davidson fired straight at Blayney at the other end.

Teggart's free-kick piledriver from 30 yards in the final minute of normal time ensured a nervous finish for Newry.

The home side won a free-kick in a dangerous position in the third minute of injury-time but the hitherto impressive Stuart King completely overhit his delivery - much to Newry's relief.

Match report written by BBC Sport NI

Squad Statistics (as at November 10th, 2008)

2008-2009 All Time
Alan Blayney (GK)27 14 - 14 -
Thomas Burke18 3 - 3 -
Lee Colligan19 8 - 10 -
Albert Watson23 17 - 2278
Gary Haveron27 18112611
Stuart King27 1511059
Joe McDonnell21 13 - 13 -
Gavin Melaugh27 16 - 564
Liam Mullan - 9191
Kevin Kelbie23 16512054
Neil Teggart24 189189
Aidan Watson (sub)22 14 - 873
Mark Picking (sub)32 9 - 8011
Paul McNeill (sub)20 41102

League Table (as at November 10th, 2008)

Pld W D L Pts
1. Crusaders 14 8 4 2 28
2. Linfield 12 8 2 2 26
3. Coleraine 14 8 2 4 26
4. Glentoran 12 7 4 1 25
5. Distillery 14 6 4 4 22
6. Newry 15 4 8 3 20
7. Bangor 15 6 2 7 20
8. Institute 15 5 3 7 18
9. Cliftonville 13 3 4 6 13
10. Glenavon 13 3 2 8 11
11. Dungannon 14 2 4 8 10
12. BALLYMENA UTD 15 1 5 9 8