Ballymena United 1
Dungannon Swifts 4
League (NIFL Premiership)

Ballymena United
1 - 4

League (NIFL Premiership)
Saturday, November 19th, 2016
Ballymena Showgrounds
Attendance: 886
3:00 PM Kick-off

Leroy Millar (13)
Andrew Mitchell (76)
Jarlath O'Rourke (26)
Kyle Owens (o.g.) (69)
Andrew Mitchell (76)

Team Managers
David Jeffrey
Rodney McAree

Starting Eleven
1. Ross Glendinning
21. Jim Ervin
2. Tony Kane
34. Caolan Loughran
4. Kyle Owens
17. Daniel Wallace
12. William Faulkner
10. Allan Jenkins
23. Leroy Millar
14. Cathair Friel
9. Darren Henderson
Stuart Addis
Chris Hegarty
David Armstrong
Douglas Wilson
Jamie Glackin
Andrew Burns
Ryan Harpur
Jarlath O'Rourke
Andrew Mitchell
Kris Lowe
Paul McElroy

38. Ben McCauley
22. Kyle McVey
15. Eoin Kane
25. Kyle Mackie
16. Matthew Shevlin
Terry Fitzpatrick
Seanan Clucas
Ruairi McDonald
Matthew Hazley
Andrew Coleman

Matthew Shevlin for Darren Henderson (70)
Eoin Kane for Allan Jenkins (78)
Kyle Mackie for Daniel Wallace (78)
Seanan Clucas for Douglas Wilson (76)
Terry Fitzpatrick for Paul McElroy (80)
Ruairi McDonald for Kris Lowe (86)

Leroy Millar (59)
Chris Hegarty (18)
Douglas Wilson (28)
Andrew Mitchell (88)
Seanan Clucas (90)

Red Cards
None. None.
Match Officials

Lee Tavinder (Referee)

Match Report

BALLYMENA United suffered a heavy 4-1 defeat at the hands of Dungannon Swifts at the Ballymena Showgrounds today.

The first half was a largely scrappy affair from both sides. The first 10 minutes provided little but the game was woken up on 13 minutes as United took the lead through a Leroy Millar wonder strike. Millar picked the ball up and unleashed a shot from all of 30 yards to beat Stuart Addis.

That was to be as good as it got for United as Dungannon equalised 3 minutes later. An error from Daniel Wallace allowed Andrew Mitchell in and he ran clear before managing to beat Ross Glendinning in the Ballymena goal. It could've got worse 3 minutes later when Glendinning made a great save to prevent Ryan Harper from scoring from a lobbed shot.

On 26 minutes things would get worse for the Sky Blues as they fell behind to Jarlath O'Rourke's first competitive goal for the Swifts. Some slack defending saw O'Rourke run through and slot home into the bottom corner. A neat double save by Glendinning, first to stop Harpur, and then Paul McElroy, stopped the Swifts from scoring their third. At the end of the half Ballymena threatened to level as Allan Jenkins saw a shot blocked before Daniel Wallace tried his luck, but couldn't curl the ball inside Addis' post.

It took until the 60th minute for a clear cut chance for either side in the second half. Ballymena conceded a foul on the edge of the box and the resulting free kick allowed Chris Hegarty a free header, but it was straight into the hands of Glendinning. From then, Ballymena started to sustain pressure on the Dungannon goal as Willie Faulkner and Kyle Owens had chances. First a nice move sent Faulkner through but the midfielder was denied by some good last ditch defending. On 68 minutes Owen's should've equalised. The defender stayed forward and was picked out inside the 6 yard box by Jenkins, but he fired over in a chance that seemed easier to score than miss.

2 minutes later Ballymena were made to pay as Dungannon grabbed a third. A low cross from Mitchell went in off a hapless Owens for an own goal to give Dungannon breathing space. Just 5 minutes later the contest was killed off as Dungannon condemned Ballymena to certain defeat with a fourth goal. More poor defending allowed Mitchell to be picked out and the striker netted his second of the afternoon.

The final 15 minutes saw the game die off with both sides accepting of the scoreline. The only real chance fell to Mitchell in added time, who was extremely lucky to be on the pitch after a nasty foul on Caolan Loughran, but he was prevented a hat trick goal by Glendinning on what was a dismal day for the Sky Blues.

Match report written by Phillip McPeake

Squad Statistics (as at November 19th, 2016)

2016-2017 All Time
Ross Glendinning (GK)23 10 - 10 -
Jim Ervin31 22 - 1002
Tony Kane29 211021022
Caolan Loughran21 151171
Kyle Owens24 224224
Daniel Wallace22 17 - 17 -
William Faulkner26 1845110
Allan Jenkins35 21522648
Leroy Millar21 151332
Cathair Friel23 22152215
Darren Henderson30 5 - 9925
Eoin Kane (sub)20 10 - 442
Kyle Mackie (sub)22 2 - 2 -
Matthew Shevlin (sub)17 4 - 325

League Table (as at November 19th, 2016)

Pld W D L +/- Pts
1. Crusaders 17 12 4 1 24 40
2. Linfield 17 9 6 2 24 33
3. Cliftonville 17 10 2 5 11 32
4. Coleraine 17 8 6 3 10 30
5. BALLYMENA UTD 17 9 3 5 1 30
6. Glenavon 17 6 8 3 5 26
7. Dungannon 17 5 6 6 6 21
8. Ards 17 6 2 9 -4 20
9. Glentoran 17 5 4 8 -10 19
10. Ballinamallard Utd 17 3 2 12 -21 11
11. Carrick 17 2 3 12 -26 9
12. Portadown 17 3 2 12 -20 -1

* - Table split into two divisions of six.