Warrenpoint Town 1
Ballymena United 2
League (NIFL Premiership)

Warrenpoint Town 

1 - 2

Ballymena United

League (NIFL Premiership)
Tuesday, November 30th, 2021
Attendance: 187
7:45 PM Kick-off

Luke Wade Slater (34) Kenny Kane (19)
Paul McElroy (42)

Team Managers
Barry Gray David Jeffrey

Starting Eleven
1. Conor Mitchell
2. Colm Deasy
3. Steven Ball
4. Gavin Peers
7. Kealan Dillon
9. Alan O'Sullivan
11. Luke Gallagher
17. Luke Wade Slater
20. Thomas Maguire
22. Stuart Hutchinson
23. Jonathan Leddy
Jordan Williamson .1
Conor Keeley .22
Steven McCullough .11
Douglas Wilson .4
Brendan Barr .16
Andrew McGrory .17
Leroy Millar .23
Jude Winchester .7
Kenny Kane .12
Paul McElroy .9
Ryan Waide .10

6. Dermot McVeigh
14. Ben Mullen
18. Ryan Masterson
19. Greg Moorhouse
21. Andrew Coleman
30. Lucas Peat
32. Dauda Shotayo
Sam Johnston .26
Lee Chapman .2
Ross Redman .3
Spencer Beattie .29
Daniel Bramall .18
Jack Henderson .14
Jonté Smith .27

Greg Moorhouse for Thomas Maguire (72) Daniel Bramall for Ryan Waide (72)
Lee Chapman for Andrew McGrory (80)
Jack Henderson for Jude Winchester (87)

Colm Deasy (65) Steven McCullough (79)

Red Cards
None. None.

Match Officials

Ben McMaster (Referee)
Adam Jeffrey & Kristian Hanna (Assistants)
Evan Boyce (Fourth Official)

Match Report

Ballymena United won a hard fought game against Warrenpoint Town at Milltown Playing Fields on Tuesday evening.

The early stages of the game were dominated by United as they tortured the home side, without really producing any good chances.

It took 19 minutes for the pressure to pay off, Kenny Kane heading home from an Andy McGrory corner to put the visitors ahead.

Warrenpoint were woken up by the goal, started seeing more and more possession and they finally broke through, a headed goal from Luke Wade Slater levelling the scores on 34 minutes.

Paul McElroy grabbed the second, and winning, United goal in the 42nd minute, and nobody can say he didn't deserve it as he'd been fantastic in the first half.

Chances came and went for much of the second half, Conor Keeley blocking a cross but giving away a corner, the ball falling for Alan O'Sullivan who put it wide of the post. With 55 minutes on the clock the Sky Blues had a fantastic chance to grab another, McGrory sending a free-kick into the box but Douglas Wilson's headed effort was cleared off the line.

Shots from Leroy Millar and Jude Winchester failed to trouble 'Point keeper Conor Mitchell before Steven McCullough conceded a free-kick. It was a messy free-kick and allowed United to go on the attack again, the ball ending up with Kenneth Kane who looked sure to make it 3 before being waved offside.

A late flurry of activity from the home side looked promising, but a foul on Keeley and several good saves from Williamson secured the points.

Match report written by Official Ballymena United website

Squad Statistics (as at November 30th, 2021)

2021-2022 All Time
Jordan Williamson (GK)26 19 - 58 -
Conor Keeley23 172366
Steven McCullough27 12 - 1425
Douglas Wilson27 131131
Brendan Barr20 13 - 13 -
Andrew McGrory29 13110221
Leroy Millar26 20220930
Jude Winchester28 17310013
Kenny Kane22 113376
Paul McElroy27 2066222
Ryan Waide21 162546
Lee Chapman (sub)27 7 - 7 -
Jack Henderson (sub)21 11 - 11 -
Daniel Bramall (sub)23 131131

League Table (as at November 30th, 2021)

Pld W D L +/- Pts

* - Table split into two divisions of six.