Dergview 2
Ballymena United 6
League Cup (Quarter final)


2 - 6

Ballymena United

League Cup (Quarter final)
Wednesday, November 16th, 2011
Darragh Park
7:45 PM Kick-off

Dwayne McManus (3)
Ryan Campbell (11)
Jordan Baker (10)
Allan Jenkins (18)
Alan Teggart (46)
Gary McCutcheon (52)
Gary McCutcheon (55)
Gary McCutcheon (68)

Team Managers
Adrian Forbes Roy Walker

Starting Eleven
Stefan McCusker
Liam McMenamin
Gareth Porter
Jonathan McCaskie
Dwayne McManus
Arnold Arkinson
Garbh Gallagher
Warner Mullen
Nathan Cashel
Ryan Campbell
Aaron Walsh
Wayne Drummond .20
Richard Vauls .4
Liam Watson .22
Aaron Stewart .6
Mark Surgenor .13
Tony Kane .2
Eamonn Murray .7
Allan Jenkins .10
Alan Teggart .12
Gary McCutcheon .9
Jordan Baker .14

Aidan Friel
Stephen Campbell
Hugh Carlin
Alan Buchanan
Adam Lecky
Christopher Rodgers .26
Curtis Woods .18
Gavin Taggart .8
Aaron Boyd .21
James Costello .17

Aidan Friel for Gareth Porter (61)
Stephen Campbell for Nathan Cashel (65)
Hugh Carlin for Warner Mullen (82)
Aaron Boyd for Jordan Baker (61)
James Costello for Eamonn Murray (66)
Christopher Rodgers for Tony Kane (80)

None. None.

Red Cards
Jonathan McCaskie (27) None.

Match Officials

Tim Marshall (Irvinestown) (Referee)

Match Report

BALLYMENA United overcame an early scare to progress to the semi-finals of the Irn-Bru League Cup following victory over Dergview at Darragh Park.

It was the first competitive meeting between the two sides but turned into a nightmare for United as the Championship 1 club stormed into an early lead.

With just three minutes elapsed, Duwayne McManus capitalized on poor defending from Aaron Stewart to fire past Wayne Drummond in the Ballymena United goal and put the County Tyrone team into a surprise lead.

Eight minutes later an upset was well and truly on the cards as Ryan Campbell drove the ball home to double the home side's lead and United's sizeable travelling support was left stunning and staring elimination from the competition in the face.

The two goal advantage lasted only two minutes as struggling United pulled a goal from no-where when Ally Teggart's cross was met with a looping Jordan Baker header to bring the Sky Blues back into the game with his sixth goal of the season.

This settled United and with 23 minutes gone, they drew the scores level again when Baker's low drive was pushed onto the post by home goalkeeper Stefan McCusker but it bounced out only as far as captain Allan Jenkins who tapped home.

A rip-roaring cup tie already was given another dimension just five minutes later when defender Jonathan McCaskie was given a straight red card for bringing down Jordan Baker as the former Portadown striker bombed through on goal – reducing Dergview to ten men.

The game was level going into the break but the Skies took the lead just three minutes into the second period and never looked back after that – as Gary McCutcheon teed up Ally Teggart for arguably the goal of the game when he struck a powerful shot from just inside the edge of the box with the outside of his boot, giving the keeper no chance.

Gary McCutcheon soon single handedly set about putting the game beyond the reach of the lower league side, firstly dispatching an Ally Teggart cross on 54 minutes from close range and then 60 seconds later repeating the process finding time and space to drill Aaron Stewart's superb low cross from the left into the back of the net to put the Braidmen 5-2 up on the evening.

With 20 minutes remaining the impressive Scottish striker grabbed his second hat-trick of the season and his 20th goal of the season so far when he chased down Wayne Drummond's long punt upfield and wrestled the ball away from Liam McMenamin before firing home.

So a first League Cup semi-final since 2002 beckons for Roy Walker's Ballymena United side awaits.

In the final minute of the game Eamonn Murray lofted in a cross which found captain Allan Jenkins at the back post and with the goal at his mercy, he headed just wide.

Match report written by Official Ballymena United website

Squad Statistics (as at November 16th, 2011)

2011-2012 All Time
Wayne Drummond (GK)19 11 - 11 -
Liam Watson29 111111
Mark Surgenor25 1729411
Richard Vauls21 101101
Aaron Stewart21 1911143
Tony Kane24 122122
Alan Teggart24 193193
Eamonn Murray23 10 - 4810
Allan Jenkins30 182182
Gary McCutcheon33 20206435
Jordan Baker22 176176
Christopher Rodgers (sub)20 10 - 10 -
James Costello (sub)25 12 - 12 -
Aaron Boyd (sub)20 92174

League Table (as at November 16th, 2011)

Pld W D L +/- Pts
1. Linfield 16 12 0 4 18 36
2. Portadown 16 11 1 4 17 34
3. Cliftonville 16 10 2 4 7 32
4. Glentoran 16 9 3 4 21 30
5. Crusaders 16 8 3 5 8 27
6. Coleraine 16 6 6 4 9 24
7. Donegal Celtic 16 7 2 7 -9 23
8. BALLYMENA UTD 16 6 2 8 -5 20
9. Dungannon 16 3 5 8 -13 14
10. Carrick 16 3 3 10 -22 12
11. Distillery 16 3 2 11 -20 11
12. Glenavon 16 2 3 11 -11 9

* - Table split into two divisions of six.