Harland and Wolff Welders 2
Ballymena United 2
Irish Cup (Round 5)

HW Welders 

2 - 2

Ballymena United

Irish Cup (Round 5)
Saturday, January 11th, 2014
Tillysburn Park
1:30 PM Kick-off

Philip Simpson (5)
Matthew Burrows (78)
Philip Simpson (o.g.) (61)
Darren Henderson (86)

Team Managers
Gary Smyth Glenn Ferguson

Starting Eleven
Lee Windrum
Gareth Beattie
Craig Harris
Ryan Deans
Daniel McMurray
Philip Simpson
Paul Dickson
Mark Magennis
Matthew Burrows
Joshua Cahoon
Scott Davidson
Aaron Shanahan
Mark Surgenor
Tony Kane .2
David Munster
Jonathan Taylor
Aaron Stewart .6
Gary Thompson
Allan Jenkins .10
Gavin Taggart
Alan Teggart
David Cushley .11

Christopher Middleton
William Armstrong
Samuel Devine
Michael Dougherty
Jim Ervin .21
Alan Davidson .4
Darren Henderson
Neil Lowry
Michael McLellan

None. Jim Ervin for Gavin Taggart (42)
Darren Henderson for Mark Surgenor (46)
Michael McLellan for Gary Thompson (82)

None. None.

Red Cards
None. None.

Match Officials

Ross Dunlop (Referee)

Match Report

DEBUTANT Darren Boyce spared United's blushes with a dramatic late equaliser at Tillysburn Park to secure a 2-2 draw and a replay at the Showgrounds on Tuesday 21st.

The hosts started much the brighter and deservedly took the lead with just five minutes on the clock. Centre back Philip Simpson scrambled home Mark Magennis' corner past Sky Blues' debutant goalkeeper Aaron Shanahan to put the Championship side one goal to the good.

United responded to going a goal down with a weak effort from Allan Jenkins, easily saved by Welders goalkeeper Lee Windrum before Aaron Stewart flashed a cross across the face of goal with no one on hand to tap it into the net. Both sides had excellent chances before the break, first Josh Cahoon headed just past the near post for the Welders before Matty Burrows' curling effort nestled just over the bar. For the Sky Blues, David Munster's powerful header was saved of the line by Lee Windrum after Alan Teggart's corner, leaving the score 1-0 to the home side at the interval.

United should have been level on 47 minutes but defender Johnny Taylor shot wide when in acres of space inside the box. Scott Davidson almost made Ballymena pay for their profligacy but his effort curled just wide of Aaron Shanahan's far post. On 61 minutes the Sky Blues were level, substitute and one of three debutantes Jim Ervin flashed a delightful cross into the six yard box which was accidentally bundled into the bottom corner by Welders goalscorer Philip Simpson under duress from Tony Kane.

Ballymena should have went in front moments later when an excellent through ball from Tony Kane was blasted over the bar by Darren Boyce, a golden chance wasted. The Welders made United pay for this miss on 78 minutes when Matty Burrows slotted home Gareth Beattie's cross to put the home side seemingly in the hat for the next round.

Late drama was to follow however with 86 minutes on the clock, centre back David Munster found himself in an unfamiliar wide right position, and the big man proved his ability in such a role with a pin point cross to Darren Boyce who headed the ball past Windrum to send the sizeable travelling support into raptures.

Alan Teggert and David Cushley both had late chances to win the tie for the visitors, but defeat would have been harsh on the Welders who have more than earned a second bite of the cherry through a replay at Ballymena Showgrounds next Tuesday night. This Tuesday however United are in league action at Stangmore Park against Dungannon Swifts (7.45pm).

Match report written by Jordan Miller

Squad Statistics (as at January 11th, 2014)

2013-2014 All Time
Aaron Shanahan (GK)29 1 - 1 -
Jonathan Taylor25 273586
Aaron Stewart24 2511946
Tony Kane26 301986
Mark Surgenor28 17215017
David Munster34 17 - 865
Alan Teggart27 28510620
Gary Thompson23 2856810
Gavin Taggart29 15 - 1345
Allan Jenkins32 28610017
David Cushley24 251214635
Jim Ervin (sub)28 1 - 1 -
Michael McLellan (sub)20 151151
Darren Henderson (sub)27 1111

League Table (as at January 11th, 2014)

Pld W D L +/- Pts
1. Linfield 23 16 3 4 23 51
2. Cliftonville 24 14 6 4 22 48
3. Crusaders 24 12 9 3 25 45
4. Glentoran 24 10 9 5 9 39
5. Portadown 24 10 7 7 19 37
6. Glenavon 22 8 5 9 0 29
7. BALLYMENA UTD 24 10 4 10 -4 34
8. Dungannon 24 8 5 11 -9 29
9. Ballinamallard Utd 24 7 4 13 -23 25
10. Warrenpoint Town 23 6 4 13 -19 22
11. Coleraine 24 5 6 13 -14 21
12. Ards 24 4 2 18 -29 14

* - Table split into two divisions of six.