Ballymena 1
Bangor 5
County Antrim Shield (Round 1)

1 - 5

County Antrim Shield (Round 1)
Wednesday, January 29th, 1930
Ballymena Showgrounds
2:45 PM Kick-off

John Murphy (23)
Tim Maloney (3)
Tim Maloney (pen.)
Tim Maloney
Tim Maloney
Tim Maloney

Team Managers
Selection Committee
Selection Committee

Starting Eleven
John Gough
John McNinch
David Nelson
Sidney Howard
David Reid
George Arlow
Thomas Kilpatrick
Jamie Shiels
Joseph Cassidy
Johnny Dalrymple
John Murphy
Sam Moore
William Ellis
Benjamin Ellis
William Chivers
John Reid
Mal McKinney
Tim Maloney
Joe Clennell
William Salisbury


None. None.

None. None.

Red Cards
John McNinch (75)
Match Officials

W. McClean (Belfast) (Referee)

Match Report

A big crowd, for a Wednesday match, turned up at the Showgrounds to see Ballymena and Bangor in the first round of the County Antrim Shield.

Ballymena turned out without McCambridge, who was resting in view of playing for Ireland in Saturday's international against Wales. Cassidy figured at inside-left and Arlow at inside-right.

The game was very fast and keenly contested from start to finish. In the first half Ballymena had almost all the play, but Bangor sprang a surprise right at the start by scoring in the first three minutes per Tim Maloney.

The Light Blues afterwards kept up a running attack, and in the course of these exchanges forced corners almost monotonously, but the splendid play of the Bangor backs stemmed the tide. On the Ballymena left Cassidy and Murphy were conspicuous for some clever footwork, and both Murphy and Kilpatrick fired in centre after centre, but the defence held firm.

However, at the end of twenty-three minutes Ballymena secured the equaliser, John Murphy scoring from a corner. Then Bangor forced a corner, but from the flag kick Gough punched clear.

Ballymena continued to monopolise the play, and again a regular succession of corners fell to them. From one of these Reid headed the ball into the net, but the referee gave a 'free' for an infringement. Close on the interval Maloney, Bangor's centre-forward, dashed away on a clear field, but Gough came out of goal and saved the situation.

Play swung quickly from end to end on the resumption. In this half fouls were frequent against Bangor, the home front line being stopped on numerous occasions through shady tactics on the part of their opponents.

In attempting a clearance Dalrymple hit the ball against an opponent and away the Bangor forwards raced for goal but Dalrymple made a speedy recovery and eased the pressure. The Bangor forwards pushed their way through the Ballymena defence, and when Clennell was about to shoot Nelson brought him down inside the penalty area, and Tim Maloney scored with the spot-kick.

Afterwards Ballymena went all out for goals, but although the forwards were able to take the ball right up to the goal-mouth almost, they failed to put it in the net. Sometimes they wanted to walk it through, and other times congestion spoiled their chances. As in the first half, the Bangor defence stood up superbly to the series of onslaughts even the goalie had little to do.

At the end of half-an-hour's play McNinch was ordered off for a foul on Salisbury. The latter resumed play in a few minutes, apparently nothing the worse of his encounter.

Playing the one-back game, the homesters kept on the offensive for a considerable period, but their efforts met with no better success. At every chance he got, Kilpatrick dropped in lovely centres, but they all went a-begging.

Howard missed narrowly once at the side of the post, and Shiels did everything but score. Towards the finish Bangor broke away twice and scored each time per Tim Maloney.

Match report written by Ballymena Observer (31 January 1930)

Squad Statistics (as at January 29th, 1930)

1929-1930 All Time
John Gough (GK)34 25 - 69 -
John McNinch26 23 - 641
David Nelson26 10 - 17 -
Sidney Howard22 272633
David Reid33 243669
George Arlow24 8383
Jamie Shiels20 27196461
John Murphy31 186186
Joseph Cassidy33 18113517
Thomas Kilpatrick34 152152
Johnny Dalrymple28 8 - 8 -

League Table (as at January 29th, 1930)

Pld W D L Pts
1. Linfield 23 17 4 2 38
2. Glentoran 22 14 3 5 31
3. Coleraine 23 13 4 6 30
4. Belfast Celtic 24 12 4 8 28
5. BALLYMENA 23 12 3 8 27
6. Bangor 24 11 5 8 27
7. Derry City 24 11 5 8 27
8. Distillery 24 10 3 11 23
9. Glenavon 23 9 3 11 21
10. Portadown 23 6 6 11 18
11. Newry 24 8 1 15 17
12. Ards 24 6 5 13 17
13. Larne 23 5 2 16 12
14. Cliftonville 24 5 2 17 12