Ballymena United 1
Dungannon Swifts 0
League (NIFL Premiership)

Ballymena United
1 - 0

League (NIFL Premiership)
Saturday, April 25th, 2015
Ballymena Showgrounds
Attendance: 522
2:00 PM Kick-off

Allan Jenkins (17)

Team Managers
Glenn Ferguson
Darren Murphy

Starting Eleven
Dwayne Nelson
21. Jim Ervin
2. Tony Kane
David Munster
Michael Ruddy
Mark Surgenor
10. Allan Jenkins
Eamon McAllister
Gary Thompson
11. David Cushley
Darren Henderson
Andrew Coleman
David Armstrong
Matthew Hazley
David McCullough
Francis Brennan
Grant Hutchinson
Jarlath O'Rourke
Stefan McMaster
Stefan Lavery
Andrew Mitchell
Abiola Sanusi

Craig Gardiner
Kyle McVey
Neal Gawley
Jake McNeill
Stewart Nixon
Jamie Douglas
Jamie Glackin
Gary Liggett
Ryan Harpur
Terry Fitzpatrick

Stewart Nixon for Darren Henderson (63)
Neal Gawley for Eamon McAllister (67)
Kyle McVey for David Munster (90)
Jamie Douglas for Stefan McMaster (47)
Jamie Glackin for Abiola Sanusi (47)
Gary Liggett for Andrew Mitchell (62)

Michael Ruddy (79)

Red Cards
None. None.
Match Officials

Ross Dunlop (Referee)

Match Report

BALLYMENA United signed off the 2014/15 season with a sixth successive Danske Bank Premiership courtesy of a 1-0 home victory over Dungannon Swifts.

United dictated the opening exchanges but found the howling wind a problem as several crosses and corners went astray. After a while they managed to get to grips with the conditions and were unlucky not to take the lead with a quarter of an hour on the clock when Darren Boyce's cross come shot was cleared off the goal line by Swifts defender David Armstrong.

It mattered little as the Sky Blues duly opened the scoring from the resulting corner, courtesy of Allan Jenkins slotting home from David Cushley's delivery.

United almost made it two on 27 minutes when Swifts goalkeeper Andy Coleman's attempted clearance struck the back of Darren Boyce and looped towards goal, before eventually nestling on the top of the net, much to the Dungannon stopper's relief. This near miss seemed to spark the visitors into life and they should have equalised on the half hour mark but Andy Mitchell could only find the woodwork with his unmarked back post header from a Jarlath O'Rourke cross.

Darren Boyce again went close, this time intentionally, for United on 36 minutes but scuffed a dreadful effort wide of the target when through on goal. David Munster, on his last appearance for Ballymena United forced Dungannon's Andy Coleman into a stunning save on the stroke of half time after the big defender got on the end of David Cushley's corner.

Stefan McMaster and Andy Mitchell both went close for Dungannon early in the second half as the visitors came out in search of an equaliser, whilst David Cushley dragged an effort wide of the target for United. Swifts substitute Jamie Douglas almost equalised with a superb free kick only for the quick reflexes of Dwayne Nelson in the United goal, before David Cushley threatened once more, this time hitting the target and forcing a fine save out of Andy Coleman in the process. The closing stages saw retiree David Munster withdrawn to a standing ovation as United saw out the victory, securing a record haul of 51 points in the process.

Match report written by Jordan Miller

Squad Statistics (as at April 25th, 2015)

2014-2015 All Time
Dwayne Nelson (GK)30 29 - 205 -
Jim Ervin29 18 - 351
Tony Kane27 4331539
David Munster36 2421258
Michael Ruddy21 201672
Mark Surgenor29 29318820
Allan Jenkins33 441216032
Eamon McAllister27 102102
Gary Thompson24 34311314
David Cushley25 371119949
Darren Henderson29 47146321
Kyle McVey (sub)28 122122
Neal Gawley (sub)29 374485
Stewart Nixon (sub)17 1 - 1 -

League Table (as at April 25th, 2015)

Pld W D L Pts
1. Crusaders 38 25 7 6 82
2. Linfield 38 21 9 8 72
3. Glenavon 38 20 6 12 66
4. Portadown 38 17 11 10 62
5. Cliftonville 38 16 13 9 61
6. Glentoran 38 16 10 12 58
7. BALLYMENA UTD 38 15 6 17 51
8. Coleraine 38 13 8 17 47
9. Ballinamallard Utd 38 10 9 19 39
10. Dungannon 38 8 13 17 37
11. Warrenpoint Town 38 6 12 20 30
12. Institute 38 4 10 24 22