Ballymena United 2
Warrenpoint Town 1
League (NIFL Premiership)

Ballymena United
2 - 1
Warrenpoint Town 

League (NIFL Premiership)
Tuesday, April 7th, 2015
Ballymena Showgrounds
Attendance: 413
7:45 PM Kick-off

Matthew Tipton (37)
Darren Henderson (86)
Daniel Hughes (30)

Team Managers
Glenn Ferguson
Barry Gray

Starting Eleven
Tim Allen
21. Jim Ervin
Patrick McNally
Michael Ruddy
Mark Surgenor
Jonathan Taylor
Neal Gawley
10. Allan Jenkins
Eamon McAllister
Darren Henderson
Matthew Tipton
Jonathan Parr
Darren King
Liam Bagnall
Dermot McVeigh
Jonathan Cowan
Ruairi Devlin
John McGuigan
Conor McDonald
Mark Hughes
Daniel Hughes
Stephen Hughes

2. Tony Kane
Stephen McBride
Alan Teggart
Gary Thompson
Matthew Shevlin
Padraig Smith
Darren Forsyth
Jonathan Frazer
John Boyle
Timmy Grant

Tony Kane for Patrick McNally (68)
Gary Thompson for Mark Surgenor (72)
Stephen McBride for Michael Ruddy (78)
Padraig Smith for Ruairi Devlin (68)
Darren Forsyth for Mark Hughes (79)
Jonathan Frazer for Stephen Hughes (87)

None. None.

Red Cards
None. None.
Match Officials

Raymond Crangle (Referee)

Match Report

BALLYMENA United made it three wins from three in the Danske Bank Premiership with a 2-1 home victory over Warrenpoint Town at the Showgrounds.

United started somewhat sluggishly, allowing Warrenpoint to dictate the early tempo and force Time Allen into an early save from Daniel Hughes. The visitors took a deserved lead on the half hour mark, star striker Daniel Hughes raced onto a through ball from midfield and calmly slotted the ball into the far corner beyond the reach of the outstretched Tim Allen.

The home side gradually began to assert their authority on proceedings and scored a deserved equaliser on 37 minutes after a well worked team move. Jim Ervin played a perfect channel ball down the right hand side into the path of Mark Surgenor who crossed for top scorer Matthew Tipton to finish and restore parity to the scoreline. Tipton went close again moments later, but on this occasion the Warrenpoint goalkeeper was equal to his effort, parrying it out for a corner.

Tim Allen again impressed in the United goal, racing off his line to deny John McGuigan before Eamonn McAllister threatened with two efforts from the edge of the box for Ballymena before the half time whistle blew.

The second half was devoid of much clear cut goalmouth action for either side until Paddy McNally rattled the cross bar with a header from Neal Gawley's corner with Matthew Tipton subsequently heading wide the rebound. This finally brought the home to life, as in form striker Darren Boyce nodded home Tipton's cross from the right on 86 minutes to seal the win for the Sky Blues and maintain their impressive recent run of form.

United survived a late scare as John McGuigan threatened for the visitors again but it was too little too late for Barry Gray's side who were condemned to their second defeat in as many visits to the Showgrounds this season.

Match report written by Jordan Miller

Squad Statistics (as at April 7th, 2015)

2014-2015 All Time
Tim Allen (GK)23 10 - 10 -
Jim Ervin29 15 - 321
Patrick McNally20 9 - 9 -
Michael Ruddy21 181652
Mark Surgenor29 26318520
Jonathan Taylor26 37410611
Neal Gawley29 353464
Allan Jenkins33 421115831
Eamon McAllister27 7171
Darren Henderson29 44146021
Matthew Tipton34 45194519
Tony Kane (sub)27 4031509
Stephen McBride (sub)32 37 - 57 -
Gary Thompson (sub)24 31311014

League Table (as at April 7th, 2015)

Pld W D L Pts
1. Crusaders 34 22 7 5 73
2. Linfield 34 20 7 7 67
3. Cliftonville 35 16 12 7 60
4. Glenavon 35 18 6 11 60
5. Portadown 35 17 9 9 60
6. Glentoran 35 15 9 11 54
7. BALLYMENA UTD 35 12 6 17 42
8. Coleraine 35 11 8 16 41
9. Dungannon 35 8 11 16 35
10. Ballinamallard Utd 35 9 8 18 35
11. Warrenpoint Town 35 6 10 19 28
12. Institute 35 4 9 22 21