Dungannon Swifts 1
Ballymena United 0
League (NIFL Premiership)


1 - 0

Ballymena United

League (NIFL Premiership)
Friday, March 6th, 2015
Stangmore Park
Attendance: 311
7:45 PM Kick-off

Terry Fitzpatrick (35) None.

Team Managers
Darren Murphy Glenn Ferguson

Starting Eleven
Andrew Coleman
Matthew Hazley
Terry Fitzpatrick
Ryan Harpur
Douglas Wilson
Francis Brennan
Andrew Burns
Jamie Glackin
Jarlath O'Rourke
Gary Liggett
Jamie Douglas
Tim Allen
Jim Ervin .21
Patrick McNally
David Munster
Tony Kane .2
Stephen McBride
Gary Thompson
Eamon McAllister
Darren Henderson
Matthew Tipton
David Cushley .11

Andrew Mitchell
Stefan Lavery
David McCullough
Kris Lowe
Abiola Sanusi
Mark Surgenor
Craig Gardiner
Neal Gawley
Brian McCaul
Alan Teggart

Andrew Mitchell for Gary Liggett (60)
Stefan Lavery for Jamie Douglas (75)
David McCullough for Terry Fitzpatrick (85)
Brian McCaul for Eamon McAllister (68)
Alan Teggart for David Munster (80)
Mark Surgenor for Gary Thompson (80)

Jamie Glackin (12)
Terry Fitzpatrick (52)
Francis Brennan (66)
Eamon McAllister (44)
Brian McCaul (72)

Red Cards
None. None.

Match Officials

Raymond Hetherington (Referee)

Match Report

Dungannon Swifts claimed just their third home win of the league season with this victory over a lacklustre Ballymena. Terry Fitzpatrick scored the only goal of the game in the first half. Ballymena, though, will point to a penalty decision which went against them just before the break.

The victory is a major boost to Swifts' hopes of survival. Dungannon started the night four points outside the drop zone and still needing wins to ease their relegation worries. The Sky Blues had won 3-0 on their last visit to Stangmore Park and made a decent start. Inside 20 seconds some poor defending resulted in a chance for Gary Thompson, but his low strike crept just past the post. At the other end Matt Hazley turned and drilled a shot narrowly wide.

Matthew Tipton and David Cushley both had attempts, the latter working the goalkeeper from the tightest of angles. A good passage of play from Swifts saw Jamie Glackin take a pass from Gary Liggett and cross to the back post, where Fitzpatrick couldn't connect with the ball.

All three combined again in the 33rd minute. Glackin played in Liggett, who cut the ball back to Fitzpatrick, but his strike was blocked. From the resulting corner Hazley found Fitzpatrick, whose header bounced off the post and was ruled to have crossed the line by the assistant. Late in the half Eamonn McAllister had claims for a penalty turned down. Andrew Mitchell, a replacement for Liggett, went close to adding a second just past the hour mark but his low strike was tipped wide.

Glackin also worked the goalkeeper after cutting across goal. Otherwise the second half was a poorer affair, with Ballymena showing little sign of a comeback. Instead Swifts continued to threaten, and Mitchell sent a half-volley over after meeting a header from Glackin. Stefan Lavery also went for goal from wide on the left but his shot was safely gathered. Glenn Ferguson played his final hand with the introduction of Mark Surgenor and Ally Teggart for the last 10 minutes, but Dungannon held on.

Match report written by Ballymena Times

Squad Statistics (as at March 6th, 2015)

2014-2015 All Time
Tim Allen (GK)22 6 - 6 -
Patrick McNally20 6 - 6 -
Tony Kane27 3531459
David Munster36 2321248
Jim Ervin29 10 - 271
Stephen McBride31 32 - 52 -
Eamon McAllister27 5151
Gary Thompson24 27310614
Matthew Tipton34 40174017
David Cushley25 311119349
Darren Henderson29 39115518
Mark Surgenor (sub)29 22218119
Brian McCaul (sub)24 16 - 16 -
Alan Teggart (sub)28 35515628

League Table (as at March 6th, 2015)

Pld W D L Pts
1. Crusaders 30 19 7 4 64
2. Linfield 30 17 7 6 58
3. Portadown 30 16 6 8 54
4. Cliftonville 30 14 11 5 53
5. Glentoran 30 13 8 9 47
6. Glenavon 30 13 6 11 45
7. Coleraine 30 10 7 13 37
8. BALLYMENA UTD 31 9 6 16 33
9. Dungannon 31 7 10 14 31
10. Ballinamallard Utd 30 7 8 15 29
11. Warrenpoint Town 30 5 9 16 24
12. Institute 30 4 9 17 21