Warrenpoint Town 2
Ballymena United 0
League (NIFL Premiership)

Warrenpoint Town 

2 - 0

Ballymena United

League (NIFL Premiership)
Thursday, January 1st, 2015
Attendance: 260
3:00 PM Kick-off

Daniel Hughes (pen.) (69)
Daniel Hughes (84)

Team Managers
Barry Gray Glenn Ferguson

Starting Eleven
Jonathan Parr
Darren King
Liam Bagnall
Dermot McVeigh
John Boyle
Jonathan Cowan
Mark Hughes
Padraig Smith
Daniel Hughes
Stephen Hughes
Ciaran O'Connor
Stuart Addis
Tony Kane .2
Stephen McBride
Mark McCullagh
Mark Surgenor
Jonathan Taylor
Neal Gawley
Allan Jenkins .10
Alan Teggart
Darren Henderson
Matthew Tipton

Ruairi Devlin
Stephen McCabe
Timmy Grant
Ciaran Rooney
Johnny Breen
Jack Graham
Matthew Ferguson
Eoin Kane
Brian McCaul
Gary Thompson

Ruairi Devlin for Jonathan Cowan (61)
Stephen McCabe for Padraig Smith (80)
Timmy Grant for Ciaran O'Connor (86)
Gary Thompson for Darren Henderson (65)
Brian McCaul for Stephen McBride (78)

Mark Hughes (79) Jonathan Taylor (88)

Red Cards
None. None.

Match Officials

Ross Dunlop (Referee)

Match Report

BALLYMENA United came crashing back down to earth with a bump after a hugely disappointing 2-0 defeat to Warrenpoint Town on New Year's Day.

The hosts started brightly and should have taken the lead on four minutes only for striker Daniel Hughes to volley over the bar when well placed after an excellent cross from Ciaran O'Connor.

United responded with a superb through ball from Tony Kane that saw Matthew Tipton through on goal but the club's leading goalscorer screwed his shot wide, blowing United's best chance of the game in the process.

On 15 minutes United had strong appeals for a penalty turned down when Warrenpoint defender Mark Hughes appeared to block Mark McCullagh's goalbound header on the line with his arm. Ciaran O'Connor then almost gave the home side the lead but he just failed to connect with Darren King's cross before Darren Boyce's cross for United met the same fate, with Allan Jenkins inches away from connecting on the stroke of half time.

Daniel Hughes forced United goalkeeper Stuart Addis into an acrobatic save with a powerful free kick on 52 minutes, before Allan Jenkins stabbed an effort over the bar at the other end as the Sky Blues continued to struggle to create clear openings on goal. Warrenpoint began to turn up the heat and went close on 62 minutes as Stuart Addis was once more called into action, rushing off his line to expertly deny Liam Bagnall.

Warrenpoint won a fortuitous penalty with 68 minutes on the clock, when Mark McCullagh was adjudged to have hauled down Ciaran O'Connor in the box. Daniel Hughes duly converted the penalty, with the striker perhaps fortunate to escape a caution for his antagonistic goal celebration towards the United supporters behind the goal.

The O'Connor-Hughes combination caused problems for United all afternoon, and it should have resulted in a second goal only for O'Connor to elect to shoot rather than pass to his team mate when better placed inside the box. Daniel Hughes did however make the result safe on 83 minutes with a tidy low finish beyond Stuart Addis to secure a deserved victory for his side and send United home pointless.

Match report written by Jordan Miller

Squad Statistics (as at January 1st, 2015)

2014-2015 All Time
Stuart Addis (GK)35 6 - 40 -
Tony Kane27 2421348
Stephen McBride31 23 - 43 -
Mark McCullagh27 22 - 64 -
Mark Surgenor29 20217919
Jonathan Taylor26 2339210
Neal Gawley28 262373
Allan Jenkins33 27814328
Alan Teggart28 27514828
Darren Henderson28 2964513
Matthew Tipton34 31133113
Gary Thompson (sub)24 1729613
Brian McCaul (sub)24 10 - 10 -

League Table (as at January 1st, 2015)

Pld W D L Pts
1. Linfield 24 15 4 5 49
2. Crusaders 24 14 6 4 48
3. Portadown 24 14 4 6 46
4. Cliftonville 24 12 7 5 43
5. Glentoran 24 11 6 7 39
6. Glenavon 23 9 4 10 31
7. Coleraine 24 9 4 11 31
8. BALLYMENA UTD 24 8 5 11 29
9. Ballinamallard Utd 24 6 5 13 23
10. Institute 24 4 8 12 20
11. Dungannon 23 4 7 12 19
12. Warrenpoint Town 24 4 6 14 18