Ballymena United 4
Coleraine 3
League (NIFL Premiership)

Ballymena United
4 - 3

League (NIFL Premiership)
Friday, December 26th, 2014
Ballymena Showgrounds
Attendance: 2,522
3:00 PM Kick-off

Darren Henderson (23)
Matthew Tipton (55)
Allan Jenkins (63)
Matthew Tipton (83)
Gary Browne (14)
Ian Parkhill (30)
David Ogilby (77)

Team Managers
Glenn Ferguson
Oran Kearney

Starting Eleven
Stuart Addis
2. Tony Kane
Stephen McBride
Mark McCullagh
David Munster
Mark Surgenor
Alan Teggart
Neal Gawley
10. Allan Jenkins
Matthew Tipton
Darren Henderson
Michael Doherty
Steven Douglas
David Ogilby
Aaron Canning
Lyndon Kane
Neil McCafferty
Shane McGinty
Joseph McNeill
Gary Browne
Adam Mullan
Ian Parkhill

Michael Ruddy
Jack Graham
Eoin Kane
Brian McCaul
Matthew Ferguson
Michael Hegarty
Mark Miskimmin
Brad Lyons
John Watt
Craig Moore

Brian McCaul for Neal Gawley (75)
Eoin Kane for Darren Henderson (83)
Michael Ruddy for Alan Teggart (90)
Michael Hegarty for Neil McCafferty (64)
Mark Miskimmin for Ian Parkhill (75)
Brad Lyons for Gary Browne (88)

Stephen McBride (49)
Mark Surgenor (79)
Ian Parkhill (59)

Red Cards
None. None.
Match Officials

Colin Burns (Referee)

Match Report

BALLYMENA United won 4-3 in a pulsating Boxing Day derby to record their first home victory over Coleraine in five years.

The early pressure was all exerted by United who, with a huge home support behind them, took the game to Coleraine from the off. Ally Teggert headed just wide from a Tony Kane cross before Kane himself tested Coleraine goalkeeper Michael Doherty with a powerful effort from long range. The United full black was involved in every Sky Blue attack and almost set up Darren Boyce for the opener, but the ex-Bannsider headed over.

In typical fashion, completely against the run of play, Coleraine took the lead. On 14 minutes, Stuart Addis' unconvincing punch clear fell to Aaron Canning on the edge of the box, whose effort on goal led to a scramble with striker Gary Browne eventually shooting home to give the visitors a one goal advantage. Coleraine were on the up and almost doubled their lead minutes later only for Joe McNeill's curling effort to land just wide of the goal after good link up by Ian Parkhill.

On 23 minutes the Sky Blues drew level, Neal Gawley's corner found Darren Boyce at the back post, whose looping header nestled into the far corner of the goal.

Parity in the scoreline lasted for a mere seven minutes, as with 30 on the clock a teasing cross from Joe McNeill allowed Ian Parkhill to head Coleraine back into the lead.

United came out for the second half determined to find a leveller and eventually did on 56 minutes after another Neal Gawley corner. The ball again fell to Darren Boyce whose deflected shot found its way to Matthew Tipton to stab the ball home from inside the six yard box.

Matthew Tipton celebrates United's second equaliser
Click Above Image To View Full Size
This gave the home side a huge lift and they duly took the lead just eight minutes later. Ally Teggert's cross slid through the legs of Coleraine goalkeeper Michael Doherty presenting skipper Allan Jenkins with effectively an open goal to give United a deserved lead.

On 78 minutes United thought they had wrapped up the points only for the linesman to rule that Mark McCullagh's header had not crossed the line, despite the protestations of all in the home stand. As so often happens in football, Coleraine went straight up the other end of the pitch and scored, to bring the game back to 3-3. David Ogilby volleyed home after a goalmouth scramble to seemingly save a point for the visitors.

This was not to be the case however as on 82 minutes United scored the winner from yet another Neal Gawley corner, the ball was flicked on by Mark McCullagh presenting Matthew Tipton with the simplest of tasks of nodding the ball home from a matter of yards to send the Sky Blue hoards into delirium and give United their first home derby victory in over half a decade in the process.

Match report written by Jordan Miller

Squad Statistics (as at December 26th, 2014)

2014-2015 All Time
Stuart Addis (GK)35 5 - 39 -
David Munster35 1721188
Tony Kane27 2321338
Mark Surgenor29 19217819
Stephen McBride31 22 - 42 -
Mark McCullagh27 21 - 63 -
Neal Gawley28 252363
Alan Teggart28 26514728
Allan Jenkins33 26814228
Matthew Tipton34 30133013
Darren Henderson28 2864413
Michael Ruddy (sub)21 161632
Brian McCaul (sub)24 9 - 9 -
Eoin Kane (sub)18 6 - 8 -

League Table (as at December 26th, 2014)

Pld W D L Pts
1. Linfield 23 15 4 4 49
2. Crusaders 23 13 6 4 45
3. Portadown 23 13 4 6 43
4. Cliftonville 23 12 6 5 42
5. Glentoran 23 10 6 7 36
6. Glenavon 23 9 4 10 31
7. Coleraine 23 9 4 10 31
8. BALLYMENA UTD 23 8 5 10 29
9. Ballinamallard Utd 23 6 4 13 22
10. Institute 23 4 8 11 20
11. Dungannon 23 4 7 12 19
12. Warrenpoint Town 23 3 6 14 15