Ballymena United 3
Dungannon Swifts 1
League Cup (Quarter final)

Ballymena United
3 - 1

League Cup (Quarter final)
Tuesday, November 11th, 2014
Ballymena Showgrounds
7:45 PM Kick-off

Tony Kane (21)
Neal Gawley (33)
Darren Henderson (83)
Ryan Harpur (41)

Team Managers
Glenn Ferguson
Darren Murphy

Starting Eleven
Dwayne Nelson
2. Tony Kane
Mark Surgenor
David Munster
6. Aaron Stewart
Brian McCaul
Gary Thompson
Neal Gawley
10. Allan Jenkins
11. David Cushley
Matthew Tipton
Andrew Coleman
David Armstrong
Matthew Hazley
Ryan Harpur
Douglas Wilson
Francis Brennan
Grant Hutchinson
Andrew Burns
Jamie Glackin
Andrew Mitchell
Abiola Sanusi

Mark McCullagh
Jack Graham
Eoin Kane
Matthew Ferguson
Darren Henderson
David McCullough
Jamie Tomelty
Jamie Douglas
Stefan Lavery
Terry Fitzpatrick

Darren Henderson for David Cushley (50)
Eoin Kane for Gary Thompson (76)
David McCullough for Ryan Harpur (69)
Jamie Tomelty for Abiola Sanusi (72)
Jamie Douglas for Andrew Burns (84)

Brian McCaul (37)
Allan Jenkins (70)
Jamie Glackin (35)
Matthew Hazley (59)

Red Cards
None. None.
Match Officials

Raymond Crangle (Referee)

Match Report

Ballymena United progressed to the semi final of the Wasp Solutions League Cup for the second season running thanks to a comfortable 3-1 victory over Dungannon Swifts at the Showgrounds.

The hosts were first to threaten but Matthew Tipton's powerful effort from an acute angle hit the side netting with many in the home stand having thought their side had taken an early lead. The Swifts responded with an effort from Abby Sanusi but the winger shot wide after a neat through ball by Matt Hazley.

United took the lead on 21 minutes, a hooked ball into the box from Neal Gawley found Matthew Tipton at the back post, allowing the striker to lay the ball off to the unmarked Tony Kane who produced a neat finish past Swifts goalkeeper Andy Coleman. David Cushley almost doubled his sides' advantage moments later after skilfully beating Dungannon defender Andrew Burns only for a superb goal line clearance from Douglas Wilson to deny the United forward.

The Sky Blues were not to wait for long for the second to arrive, on 33 minutes a pinpoint cross-field ball from Allan Jenkins found Tony Kane in space on the right, allowing the full back to deliver an excellent cross for Neal Gawley to slot home and put United in a strong position. Minutes before half time the Swifts pulled one back, Andrew Mitchell went down in the box under pressure from David Munster with referee Raymond Crangle signalling for a penalty kick. Ryan Harpur duly converted to give Dungannon a fighting chance going into the break.

The visitors came out for the second half with fresh impetus and almost got back on level terms only for Dwayne Nelson to produce a smart stop to deny Matt Hazley, with Andrew Mitchell unable to covert on the follow up. The Swifts were on top and blew their best chance to get back on level terms when David Armstrong headed just wide of the post when unmarked from a corner.

United effectively wrapped up proceedings by scoring a third on 83 minutes. Tony Kane's cross caused havoc in the Dungannon box with the ball eventually falling to Darren Boyce on the edge of the area allowing the substitute to rifle home a superb effort to send the Sky Blues through to the semi finals.

Match report written by Jordan Miller

Squad Statistics (as at November 11th, 2014)

2014-2015 All Time
Dwayne Nelson (GK)30 22 - 198 -
Tony Kane27 1521258
Aaron Stewart24 13 - 2216
Mark Surgenor28 11 - 17017
David Munster35 11 - 1126
Brian McCaul24 6 - 6 -
Neal Gawley28 172283
Allan Jenkins33 18513425
Gary Thompson24 1229113
David Cushley25 21618344
Matthew Tipton34 227227
Eoin Kane (sub)18 3 - 5 -
Darren Henderson (sub)28 2053612

League Table (as at November 11th, 2014)

Pld W D L Pts
1. Cliftonville 16 9 6 1 33
2. Portadown 16 9 3 4 30
3. Linfield 16 9 3 4 30
4. Crusaders 16 8 5 3 29
5. Glenavon 16 9 2 5 29
6. Coleraine 16 7 3 6 24
7. Glentoran 16 6 5 5 23
8. BALLYMENA UTD 16 5 4 7 19
9. Institute 16 4 5 7 17
10. Ballinamallard Utd 16 3 4 9 13
11. Dungannon 16 1 6 9 9
12. Warrenpoint Town 16 2 2 12 8