Ballinamallard United 0
Ballymena United 1
League (NIFL Premiership)

Ballinamallard Utd 

0 - 1

Ballymena United

League (NIFL Premiership)
Saturday, August 13th, 2016
Ferney Park
Attendance: 295
3:00 PM Kick-off

None. Tony Kane (pen.) (65)

Team Managers
Gavin Dykes David Jeffrey

Starting Eleven
James McGrath
Ryan McConnell
Ross Taheny
Gary Armstrong
Johnny Lafferty
Adam Lecky
Shane McCabe
Shane McGinty
David Elliott
Jason McCartney
Ryan Morris
Ross Glendinning
Daniel Wallace .17
Jonathan Flynn
Kyle Owens
Jim Ervin .21
Tony Kane .2
Leroy Millar
Allan Jenkins
Gary Thompson
Neil Lowry
Cathair Friel

Stefan McCusker
Joshua McIlwaine
John Currie
James McKenna
Steve Feeney
Alan Blayney
Caolan Loughran
Eoin Kane
Conor McCloskey
Matthew Shevlin

Joshua McIlwaine for Johnny Lafferty (53)
John Currie for David Elliott (75)
James McKenna for Adam Lecky (78)
Matthew Shevlin for Neil Lowry (68)
Conor McCloskey for Leroy Millar (79)

Adam Lecky (73)
Shane McGinty (89)
Conor McCloskey (89)

Red Cards
None. None.

Match Officials

Steven Taylor (Referee)

Match Report

BALLYMENA United grabbed their first win of the season at Ballinamallard thanks to a Tony Kane penalty.

It was Ballymena United with all the early pressure in Fermanagh. Cathair Friel had a good chance early in the game after easily dispossessing Adam Lecky but his shot went wide. A series of crosses and corners came to the visitors, but they were unable to create a vital goal, Leroy Millar crashing a volley onto the post from just outside the box.

On 15 minutes Friel had a penalty claim turned down by referee Steven Taylor after he appeared to have been brought down in the box by Ryan Morris. After 22 minutes Friel sent a ball into Allan Jenkins who had lost his marker, but he headed the ball over the bar. Moments later it was Neil Lowry with the chance to send a ball across the 6 yard box, but there was nobody there to finish.

It took the home side over half an hour to register a chance on target but Ross Glendinning easily saved. At the other end Gary Thompson slipped the ball into Friel but he was flagged for offside. With 35 minutes on the board Danny Wallace sent a fantastic ball through to Friel who brought it down and tried to lob the keeper, the ball bouncing just wide. A minute later Friel was the supplier as he squared the ball to Lowry who shot straight at the keeper.

The second half started in a similar fashion to the first, Friel coming close twice in the opening minutes, drilling the second agonisingly wide of Mallards keeper James McGrath. Just before the hour mark Millar sent the ball across to Lowry who tapped into the net, but it was ruled out for an offside offence. Moments later a free kick for the visitors led to a corner, but it came to nothing.

The Sky Blues made the breakthrough in the 65th minute, Tony Kane firing home from the penalty spot after Friel had been impeded by McGrath. On 72 minutes Gary Thompson drove a volley low and hard, forcing McGrath into a good save to prevent another goal. While the visitors continued to apply lots of pressure until the end of the game, they couldn't grab another goal, but the one turned out to be enough for the first win of the season.

Match report written by Paul Irwin

Squad Statistics (as at August 13th, 2016)

2016-2017 All Time
Ross Glendinning (GK)23 2 - 2 -
Jonathan Flynn26 3 - 181
Kyle Owens24 3232
Tony Kane28 2119113
Jim Ervin31 3 - 812
Daniel Wallace21 2 - 2 -
Leroy Millar20 3 - 211
Allan Jenkins34 3 - 20843
Gary Thompson26 3 - 15318
Cathair Friel23 3131
Neil Lowry23 1 - 533
Conor McCloskey (sub)24 2 - 2 -
Matthew Shevlin (sub)17 1 - 295

League Table (as at August 13th, 2016)

Pld W D L +/- Pts
1. Crusaders 3 2 1 0 9 7
2. Glenavon 3 2 1 0 5 7
3. Linfield 3 1 2 0 1 5
4. Cliftonville 3 1 1 1 1 4
5. Coleraine 3 1 1 1 -1 4
6. BALLYMENA UTD 3 1 1 1 -5 4
7. Ards 3 2 1 0 2 7
8. Dungannon Swifts 3 1 0 2 2 3
9. Glentoran 3 1 0 2 -2 3
10. Carrick Rangers 3 1 0 2 -6 3
11. Ballinamallard Utd 3 0 0 3 -3 0
12. Portadown 3 1 0 2 -3 -9

* - Table split into two divisions of six.